Mobile
FBUS
Version 1.7
ZipFile Contents
The zip file contains the
components required for Mobile FBUS 1.7, documentation for the components, a
demo application, and components used in the demo.
When you extract the files in the zipfile, please
ensure that you extract the files with their directories intact.
Requirements
For Delphi 4, Update Pack 3
must be installed
For Delphi 5, Update Pack 1 must be installed
For Delphi 6, Update Pack 1 must be installed
If neither of these updates are applied to the version of Delphi you are going
to use, they will not compile or install properly
Installation
Installing Full Source Components
Firstly, open
(If you have a previous version of
Select the "File" menu item and then select "Open".
Browse to the path you extracted the files in the zipfile
to, then in the directory called "Component" select the file called MBUS.dpk
This will then open up another form. There will be an
"Install" button. Select this, then it will install the needed
components etc. it should also tell you that some components were installed in
a message dialog.
Assuming all is ok, you now need to install a component required by the Demo
application.
To do this, select "Open" from the file menu.
Now navigate to where the directory the files from the zipfile
were extracted to, and look for the directory "Demo Components".
In this directory this is another directory called Packages. Select this
directory and in there select "FthGUIxx.dpk", (xx being the
Now repeat the process, but this time, select "dclFthxx.dpk"(xx
being the delphi version you
have), and press the Install button. This will compile and install this
package.
Ensure that the path to these components are in your
library path which is under the Environment options under the Tools file menu.
These components are (c) Sergey S. Tkachenko,
1996-2001.
If you have problems installing these components, please consult the README.TXT
under the "Demo Components" directory, and contact the author
directly.
Installing Runtime Components
Firstly, open
(If you have a previous version of
Select the "File" menu item and then select "Open".
Browse to the path you extracted the files in the zipfile
to, then in the directory called "Runtime", then Select the directory
name that represents the version of Delphi that you have, then select the file
called MBUS.dpk in that directory.
This will then open up another form. There will be an "Install"
button. Select this, then it will install the needed components etc. it should
also tell you that some components were installed in a message dialog.
Assuming all is ok, you now need to install a component required by the Demo
application.
To do this, select "Open" from the file menu.
Now navigate to where the directory the files from the zipfile
were extracted to, and look for the directory "Demo Components".
In this directory this is another directory called Packages. Select this
directory and in there select "FthGUIxx.dpk", (xx being the delphi
version you have), and press the Compile button. This will compile this
package.
Now repeat the process, but this time, select "dclFthxx.dpk"(xx
being the delphi version you
have), and press the Install button. This will compile and install this
package.
Ensure that the path to these components are in your
library path which is under the Environment options under the Tools file menu.
These components are (c) Sergey S. Tkachenko,
1996-2001.
If you have problems installing these components, please consult the README.TXT
under the "Demo Components" directory, and contact the author
directly.
Installing Shareware Components
Firstly, open
(If you have a previous version of
Select the "File" menu item and then select "Open".
Browse to the path you extracted the files in the zipfile
to, then in the directory called "Shareware", then Select the
directory name that represents the version of Delphi that you have, then select
the file called MBUS.dpk in that directory.
This will then open up another form. There will be an "Install"
button. Select this, then it will install the needed components etc. it should
also tell you that some components were installed in a message dialog.
Assuming all is ok, you now need to install a component required by the Demo
application.
To do this, select "Open" from the file menu.
Now navigate to where the directory the files from the zipfile
were extracted to, and look for the directory "Demo Components".
In this directory this is another directory called Packages. Select this
directory and in there select "FthGUIxx.dpk", (xx being the delphi
version you have), and press the Compile button. This will compile this
package.
Now repeat the process, but this time, select "dclFthxx.dpk"(xx
being the delphi version you
have), and press the Install button. This will compile and install this
package.
Ensure that the path to these components are in your
library path which is under the Environment options under the Tools file menu.
These components are (c) Sergey S. Tkachenko,
1996-2001.
If you have problems installing these components, please consult the README.TXT
under the "Demo Components" directory, and contact the author
directly.
(please
note: you may also need to enter the path to the
Demo
To run the demo, from
Navigate to the location where the files in the zipfile
were extracted to, and look for a directory called "FBUSDemo"
Select the file "MFBUSDemo.dpr" and this
will open the demo. Provided that you have done the installation step above,
you will be able to run the demo.
The first time the demo runs, its takes a minute or so to
gather some information about your phone and some settings. This only
happens the first time it runs.
Frequently Asked Questions
Q. I am trying to install the MFBUS
Shareware components in Delphi, but it reports the error "xxx.pas was compiled with a different version". Whats wrong ?
A.This Problem is a version mismatch
within
Q. When I try to compile, I get the
error "dsgnintf.pas" or "dsgnintf.dcu" (or in
A. You need to include the path to this
file to the [Tools/Environment Options/Library Path]. It is located under you
Q. I want to send an SMS Message, but dont want to see the Logo Editor. Whats the solution?
A. We have now split the Logo Editor
into to parts. The Logo Manager, and the Logo Editor.
You can use the Logo Manager to do all your logo manipulation, with out needing
the logo editor. IF the Logo editor is set in the properties of the Logo
Manager, it will display the logos etc.
You would use the Logo Manager if you want to create a Logo server or the like,
as its an invisble
component. The important thing to remember is, that the Logo Editor is reliant
on the Logo Manager, but the Logo Manager is does not rely on the Logo Editor.
Q. I have received a Unicode message,
but in the SMS Message List its all funny characters. How can I see the
message?
A. You need to set
the Default Character set. IF you know its Chinese,
then you can select the "CHINESEBIG5_CHARSET" character set and it
will show you the message in the SMS Message List as you would expect to see it
with Chinese characters. When you open the message, it will show the message
also as you would expect, with all the Chinese characters.
Q. I just registered my copy of Mobile
FBUS Components and updated the new files, but I still get the shareware nag
screen.
A. You need to Uninstall
the version you have installed, and then recompile and install the new
MFBUS.DPK that came with your new files. Please see the section on how to uninstall
Q. I just downloaded the latest
components, but I cant access the new features.
A. As above,
you need to uninstall the version you have installed, and then recompile and
install the new MFBUS.DPK that came with your new files. Please see the section
on how to uninstall
Q. I Cant play
ringtones through the PC Speaker. Whats
wrong ?
A. This feature
is only available in Winnt 4, Windows 2000 and
Windows XP.
Q. I have sent a ringtone to another phone, but I cant
play it
A. The other
phone is probably a model that can not play user ringtones.
The phone can receive the ringtone, but cant play it. E.g. Nokia 5110 has this problem
How
To Uninstall the FBUS Components
A lot of people have a
problem when they receive a new update of the controls where they still
experience a bug that was reported, or they still get a shareware nag screen appearing.
This is due to the fact that the old controls have not being removed.
The process of uninstalling is basically the Installation process but in reverse.
Please follow these steps carefully in order to successfully remove the
controls.
Open your copy of
From the [Tools] menu item, select [Environment Options] menu item.
This will open the “Environment Options” form.
From here, select the [Library] tab.
Now press the button at the end of the [Library Path:] edit box.
This will open up the “Directories” form.
This will have a list of File Paths.
Search for the path to your installed version of the Mobile FBUS controls.
(as a
suggestion. If you can not remember the path to the old controls, do a search on you hard drive for the file MFBUS.DPK. Then
compare its location with the list above)
Once you have removed the directories, you can now close this form, and the
“Environment Options Form”
Now, from the [Component] menu Item, select the [Install Packages] menu item.
This will open a form called “Project Options”.
From the list it displays, search for “Package for Mobile FBUS Delphi
Components”, and then press the [Remove] button. (say “YES”
to the next box that appears)
This will remove the components from the Visual Component Library.
Now, it would be a good idea to find and delete the MFBUS.BPL file.
In
Once you find it, Delete it.
It would now be a good time to also delete your Old Installation files, or back
them up as you wish.
Once this has been done, you can now, follow the installation process as above,
and install the Mobile FBus components and get no version
conflicts.